St John’s Grammar School is a co-educational independent day school affiliated with the Anglican Church.
The School offers a high standard of education, social development and community responsibility supported by a caring environment. Since its inception, the School has experienced ongoing growth and now spans three campuses in the picturesque bush setting of Belair.
In 1958 a group of dedicated parents established St John’s Grammar School in what used to be the Belair Primary School building. The School was named St John’s Grammar because it was at that time part of the St John’s Coromandel Parish. The School began with 41 Junior Primary and Primary students.
For the first 40 years of its existence, St John’s Grammar School became widely known and respected as a preparatory school of distinction. Over the years, the Junior School was expanded to incorporate a purpose-built Early Learning Centre offering Montessori-based pre-school education for three and four year old students
In 1997, the St John’s Grammar Board of Governors secured a substantial property on Gloucester Avenue. This incorporated St Barnabas’ Theological College, the St Barnabas’ Chapel, and Retreat House, built in 1881. In 1998 St John’s Grammar took its first secondary students and the foundations of a Middle School and Senior School were established. In 2002, the first students graduated Year 12.